The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Lyman Frank Baum Audio-Book eBook

Spread the love



Folklore, legends, myths and fairy tales have followed childhood through the ages, for every healthy youngster has a wholesome and instinctive love for stories fantastic, marvelous and manifestly unreal. The winged fairies of Grimm and Andersen have brought more happiness to childish hearts than all other human creations.

Yet the old time fairy tale, having served for generations, may now be classed as “historical” in the children’s library; for the time has come for a series of newer “wonder tales” in which the stereotyped genie, dwarf and fairy are eliminated, together with all the horrible and blood-curdling incidents devised by their authors to point a fearsome moral to each tale. Modern education includes morality; therefore the modern child seeks only entertainment in its wonder tales and gladly dispenses with all disagreeable incident

Having this thought in mind, the story of “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” was written solely to please children of today. It aspires to being a modernized fairy tale, in which the wonderment and joy are retained and the heartaches and nightmares are left out.

Free English Story eBook: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

Author: Lyman Frank Baum

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Lyman Frank Baum Audio-Book eBook

PUBLISHED: 1901 / 122 Pages

Read Online The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Lyman Frank Baum


  1. Introduction
  2. The Cyclone
  3. The Council with the Munchkins
  4. How Dorothy Saved the Scarecrow
  5. The Road Through the Forest
  6. The Rescue of the Tin Woodman
  7. The Cowardly Lion
  8. The Journey to the Great Oz
  9. The Deadly Poppy Field
  10. The Queen of the Field Mice
  11. The Guardian of the Gates
  12. The Emerald City of Oz
  13. The Search for the Wicked Witch
  14. The Rescue
  15. The Winged Monkeys
  16. The Discovery of Oz the Terrible
  17. The Magic Art of the Great Humbug
  18. How the Balloon Was Launched
  19. Away to the South
  20. Attacked by the Fighting Trees
  21. The Dainty China Country
  22. The Lion Becomes the King of Beasts
  23. The Country of the Quadlings
  24. Glinda The Good Witch Grants Dorothy’s Wish
  25. Home Again

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.