Please Spread the love to Share x10 TV and with Others


This popular novel concerns the lives and loves of four sisters growing up during the American Civil War, and was based on Alcott’s own experiences as a child in Concord, Massachusetts. After much demand, Alcott wrote a sequel, Good Wives, which is often published together with Little Women as if it were a single work. Good Wives picks up three years after the events in the last chapter of Little Women, and includes characters and events often felt by fans to be essential to the story.

Free English Story eBook: Little Women

Author: Louisa May Alcott

Book Excerpt / CHAPTER I


“Christmas won’t be Christmas without any presents,” grumbled Jo, lying on the rug

“It’s so dreadful to be poor!” sighed Meg, looking down at her old dress.

“I don’t think it’s fair for some girls to have plenty of pretty things, and other girls nothing at all,” added little Amy, with an injured sniff.

“We’ve got Father and Mother, and each other,” said Beth contentedly from her corner.

The four young faces on which the firelight shone brightened at the cheerful words, but darkened again as Jo said sadly, “We haven’t got Father, and shall not have him for a long time.” She didn’t say “perhaps never,” but each silently added it, thinking of Father far away, where the fighting was.

Nobody spoke for a minute; then Meg said in an altered tone, “You know the reason Mother proposed not having any presents this Christmas was because it is going to be a hard winter for everyone; and she thinks we ought not to spend
money for pleasure, when our men are suffering so in the army. We can’t do much, but we can make our little sacrifices, and ought to do it gladly. But I am afraid I don’t,” and Meg shook her head, as she thought regretfully of all the pretty things she wanted.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott / Audiobook ebook

PUBLISHED: 1868 / 484 Pages

Read Online Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

01 – Playing Pilgrims
02 – A Merry Christmas
03 – The Laurence Boy
04 – Burdens
05 – Being Neighborly
06 – Beth Finds the Palace Beautiful
07 – Amy’s Valley of Humiliation
08 – Jo Meets Apollyon
09 – Meg Goes to Vanity Fair
10 – The P.C. and P.O.
11 – Experiments
12 – Camp Laurence
13 – Castles in the Air
14 – Secrets
15 – A Telegram
16 – Letters
17 – Little Faithful
18 – Dark Days
19 – Amy’s Will
20 – Confidential
21 – Laurie Makes Mischief, and Jo Makes Peace
22 – Pleasant Meadows
23 – Aunt March Settles the Question
24 – Gossip
25 – The First Wedding
26 – Artistic Attempts
27 – Literary Lessons

28 – Domestic Experiments
29 – Calls
30 – Consequences
31 – Our Foreign Correspondent
32 – Tender Troubles
33 – Jo’s Journal
34 – A Friend
35 – Heartache
36 – Beth’s Secret
37 – New Impressions
38 – On the Shelf
39 – Lazy Laurence
40 – The Valley of the Shadow
41 – Learning to Forget
42 – All Alone
43 – Surprises
44 – My Lord and Lady
45 – Daisy and Demi
46 – Under the Umbrella
47 – Harvest Time

By x10tv

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please disable your adblocker or whitelist this site!

We Know some time Ads can be a pain, but they are our only way to maintain the server.
Your patience is highly appreciated and we hope our service can be worth it. Only place regular Banners Ads, so it NOT Ignoring when you go through x10Tv Blogs…

Thank You,


error: Content is protected !!